Best App Store screenshot generator (2026)
There is no single "best" App Store screenshot generator. The right tool depends on what you need this release: lots of languages, AI-generated layouts, direct upload, or getting the new iPhone Duo sizes right. This guide compares five tools on the points that matter, using each vendor's own pages, checked on October 15, 2026. DuoShot is our product, so we say plainly where the others do better.
What Apple requires in October 2026
Apple's screenshot specifications are the reference:
- Required iPhone size: at least one screenshot for iPhone with Dynamic Island (medium display), i.e. 6.3″, 1206 × 2622 (1179 × 2556 is also accepted). The 6.9″ sizes (1320 × 2868, 1290 × 2796, 1260 × 2736) are optional. See /en/1206x2622.
- iPhone Duo: App Store Connect accepts up to 10 iPhone Duo screenshots per device size. It accepts the outer (closed) screen at 1398 × 2034 and the inner (open) screen at 2007 × 2853, plus their landscape versions. In DuoShot: outer only, inner only, or a mix. See /en/1398x2034 and /en/2007x2853.
- Format: JPEG or PNG, no transparency.
- Deadline: Duo screenshots become required from April 2027 for apps built with the iOS 27.1 SDK or later (Apple Developer News, Oct 5, 2026).
All sizes in one place: /en/specs.
Check your files with the free iPhone Duo screenshot checker: dimensions, transparency and Apple’s limit of 10 screenshots per device size, in your browser, with no file uploads.
Comparison table
| AppScreens | AppLaunchFlow | SnapMonk | Screenpane | DuoShot | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Type | Web editor | Web launch suite | AI web generator + ASO | Mac app (macOS 15+) | Web, Duo-focused |
| Free tier | Yes: 1 project, up to 5 screens, essential sizes | Yes, but preview only (no full-resolution downloads) | "Free to try" on homepage; no free plan on pricing page | 14-day full trial, no card | 2 HD exports, no card, includes 6.3″ |
| Paid price | Pro $99/year ($8.25/mo); Scale $180/year | Launch Pass €9 once (7 days); Unlimited €15/mo or €99/yr | Starter $12/month billed annually ($144/year); the monthly plan costs more and includes screenshots only (source); Pro $230/yr; Max $566/yr | £29 once or £7/month | Pass €19 once (30 days); Indie €12/mo or €120/yr; Studio €49/mo or €490/yr |
| iPhone Duo (1398 × 2034, 2007 × 2853) | Listed as an iPhone size; subscription required | Yes, inner and outer canvases, fold and pose controls | Not stated | Yes, all four Duo sizes from one design | Yes, core focus |
| 6.3″ 1206 × 2622 | Yes ("iPhone with Dynamic Island (medium)"), free | Not stated on pages checked | Not stated | "3 iPhone sizes"; exact list not stated | Yes, free trial |
| AI | AI captions; AI restyling (Pro) | AI illustrations (1/mo free, 200/mo Unlimited) | AI renders, edits, review analysis (credits) | Translation with your own OpenAI key; agent control via MCP | None: rule-based checks |
| Localization | 80+ languages (Pro) | Paid | Yes | 36 languages | No translation |
| Export / upload | Export; 1-click upload to App Store Connect and Google Play (Pro) | Bundle download; App Store Connect upload (paid) | HD exports; can send a test variant to App Store Connect | Export; upload to App Store Connect and Google Play | ZIP sorted by screen; you upload manually |
| Pre-submission checks | Not stated | Advice to check files, no automated checks stated | Not stated | Live issue list (overflow, sample text, missing translations) | Dimensions/format, framing, similar screens, legibility near the fold |
| Team / client | Scale: extended licence for client work | Not stated | 1 seat | Not stated | Studio: 3 seats + 7-day client review link |
Tool by tool
AppScreens: the most complete all-rounder
AppScreens covers iOS and Android from one responsive design, with 150+ template sets, 80+ languages and one-click uploads to App Store Connect and Google Play, including Custom Product Pages and PPO. The free plan is genuinely usable (one project, 5 screens, essential sizes, no card). Duo appears in its size list, behind the subscription. Better than DuoShot for: localization, Android, templates, direct upload.
AppLaunchFlow: a full launch kit, cheap for one release
Screenshots, promo videos, icons, ASO copy, a hosted website and keyword tracking in one workspace. Its Duo page offers inner and outer canvases with fold and pose controls. The €9 Launch Pass (7 days) is the cheapest way to export everything for a single launch. Free exports are preview only. Better than DuoShot for: marketing extras, store upload, price for one launch.
SnapMonk: AI-first, with ASO tools
You drop raw screens and AI builds the set; credits cover renders and edits. Yearly plans add keyword research, rank tracking and review analysis, and it can push a screenshot variant to App Store Connect as a product page test. Its pages do not mention iPhone Duo sizes, and payments are non-refundable. Better than DuoShot for: AI-generated design and keyword work.
Screenpane: a native Mac app for indie developers
Screenpane imports Simulator captures, exports all four Duo sizes from one design, translates into 36 languages and uploads only changed files to App Store Connect. Since 1.8, coding agents (Claude Code, Cursor, Codex) can drive it via a local MCP server. Lifetime licence for £29. Better than DuoShot for: a one-time price, upload, offline work. Mac only.
DuoShot: focused on getting Duo submissions right
DuoShot does one thing: turns your real app captures into Duo screenshots at the exact sizes (1398 × 2034 and 2007 × 2853), plus the required 6.3″ (1206 × 2622), as opaque PNG or JPEG in a ZIP sorted by screen. Before you submit, it checks dimensions and format, flags framing issues and screens that look too similar, and helps you review legibility near the fold. Studio adds a client review link. It does not upload to App Store Connect: you add the files to your listing yourself. It has no AI design or translation, and no Android. 6.9″ (1320 × 2868, 1290 × 2796, 1260 × 2736) comes with Pass, Indie and Studio.
Which one should you pick?
- Many languages, iOS + Android, direct upload: AppScreens.
- One launch with video, icon and landing page: AppLaunchFlow Launch Pass.
- AI-generated design plus keyword tracking: SnapMonk.
- Mac user who wants to pay once: Screenpane.
- Duo screenshots checked before submission, or client sign-off: DuoShot.
Combining tools is fine: design in one, then run the files through DuoShot's checks before upload.
FAQ
Do I need separate screenshot sets for the outer and inner screens? Apple doesn't say: App Store Connect accepts up to 10 iPhone Duo screenshots per device size. In DuoShot: outer only, inner only, or a mix.
Are Duo screenshots mandatory now? Not yet for every app. Apple requires them from April 2027 for apps built with the iOS 27.1 SDK or later. Uploads are already open.
Is 6.9″ still required? No. Apple now requires the 6.3″ size (1206 × 2622 or 1179 × 2556). 6.9″ is optional.
Which free tier is the most useful? AppScreens lets you export essential sizes on its free plan; DuoShot gives 2 HD exports including Duo and 6.3″; Screenpane offers a 14-day full trial. AppLaunchFlow's free plan doesn't allow full-resolution downloads.
Does DuoShot upload to App Store Connect? No. DuoShot exports a ZIP; you upload the screenshots manually. AppScreens, AppLaunchFlow and Screenpane offer direct upload.
Detailed DuoShot comparisons
For file preparation, display slots and manual upload steps, read iPhone Duo screenshots in App Store Connect.
Sources (checked October 15, 2026)
- Apple, Screenshot specifications: https://developer.apple.com/help/app-store-connect/reference/app-information/screenshot-specifications/
- Apple Developer News, Oct 5, 2026: https://developer.apple.com/news/?id=kkphp5qo
- AppScreens pricing: https://appscreens.com/pricing
- AppLaunchFlow pricing: https://applaunchflow.com/pricing
- AppLaunchFlow iPhone Duo page: https://applaunchflow.com/iphone-duo-screenshot-generator
- SnapMonk homepage and pricing: https://snapmonk.com, https://snapmonk.com/pricing
- Screenpane: https://www.screenpane.com/
- DuoShot pricing: https://duoshot.site/en/pricing